Organizations‎ > ‎


The Local School Council was created by the Chicago School Reform Act of 1988. Local School Councils are in all Chicago Schools. The Local School Council consists of 6 parents, 2 community members, 2 teachers, 1 staff member, and the principal of the school. In high schools there is also a student representative on the council. Members are elected to their positions and serve a 2 year term. The exception to this is the high school student representative serving a 1 year term. Once elected the members are required to complete a mandatory training program.

The primary responsibility of the Local School Council is to select the school’s principal, renew the principal’s four year contract, approve the school’s budget for the school year and approve the CIWP (Continuous Improvement Working Plan).

Farnsworth LSC Members

Barbara OKen

Patrick McCann

Christina Hatley

Kristin Stephens

Parent Members
Becky Bush
Aryn Fletcher
Eva Grabysar-Rodriguez
Carrie Warner

Community Members
Jim Oehler
Sally Usmani

School Members
Nancy Connolly
Lori Sechesan

2016 - 2017 Meeting Schedule

September 14

October 12

November 16

December 14

January 11

February 8
6:15 pm

March 8
8:15 am

April 5
6:15 pm

May 10
8:15 am

June 14
8:15 am